Escort Vehicle Operator Certification

Have your certifications expired, or do you need training in escort vehicle operations? GTCC provides re-certification and certification training for the college's Oversized Escort Vehicle Training.

Frequently Asked Questions

NCDOT/Escort Vehicle 8 Hour Beginner Course-

This course meets the training requirements that the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) sets to certify oversize-overweight load escort vehicle drivers. Course components consist of defensive driving, escort driver requirements, skills training, and an examination. To become certified, escort drivers must attend the eight-hour Department of Transportation (DOT) Escort Vehicle Course and attend a four-hour defensive driving course that has been approved by the National Safety Council. Upon satisfactory completion of the course, and completing a four- hour defensive driving course, the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) will issue a certificate to you at no charge

NCDOT/Escort Vehicle 4 Hour Re-Certification Course-

The class is for individuals who need to renew their operator’s license. The course is a refresher course, which includes instruction on safety and effective escort skills. Upon satisfactory completion of the course, the North Carolina Department of Transportation will issue a certificate to you at no charge.

North Carolina requires escort/pilot vehicle drivers to be certified in accordance with 19A NCAC 02D. All initial applicants for the Escort Vehicle Operator program will be required to submit documentation of completing a defensive driving course that has been approved by the National Safety Council along with a copy of their state certified driving record and application of the NCDOT Oversized/Overweight Permit Unit. An 8 hour course is also mandatory for initial certification which remains valid for 4 years from the issue date. Failure to maintain the conditions set forth in the aforementioned Administrative Code will immediately result in revocation of certification. The program includes instruction in safe and effective escort skills, an examination that documents course comprehension, and a system of recognizing drivers certified by this or another state. General requirements are that an escort driver must be one of the following:

  1. Certified by another state’s approved program, or
  2. A North Carolina law enforcement officer, or
  3. A person who meets one of the following requirements:
    • Is at least 21 years of age, or
    • Is at least 18 years of age with a Class A commercial driver’s license.
    • Possesses a valid driver’s license without restrictions other than for use of corrective lens and has a driving history without conviction of driving while impaired or reckless driving in the previous 12 months.
    • Has successfully completed an NCDOT oversize-overweight escort vehicle operator course with certification exam score of at least 75 percent (75%) correct and has received consequent certification by the Department.
    • Students must attend 100% of total course hours.

NCDOT 8 HOUR - $110.00

NCDOT 4 HOUR - $70.00

The class registration fee includes all materials, and all classes are classroom instruction only.

You must bring a valid current driver’s license to class.  You will also need to provide to the NCDOT your certified driving record for your initial license only and not for your renewal.

Course Name Dates Days Hours Campus Room Register
CSP-4000-B328 Escort Vehicle DOT-Beginner 8 Hour 9/26/20 Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-B329 Escort Vehicle DOT-Beginner 8 Hour 10/24/20 Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-B330 Escort Vehicle DOT-Beginner 8 Hour 11/21/20 Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-B117 Escort Vehicle DOT-Beginner 8 Hour 01/30/21 Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-B118 Escort Vehicle DOT-Beginner 8 Hour 02/20/21 Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-B119 Escort Vehicle DOT-Beginner 8 Hour 03/06/21 Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-B120 Escort Vehicle DOT-Beginner 8 Hour 04/24/21 Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-R331 Escort Vehicle-DOT Recertification 4 Hour 10/3/20 Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-R332 Escort Vehicle-DOT Recertification 4 Hour 12/5/20 Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-R121 Escort Vehicle-DOT Recertification 4 Hour 01/16/21 Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-R122 Escort Vehicle-DOT Recertification 4 Hour 03/16/21 Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now
CSP-4000-R123 Escort Vehicle-DOT Recertification 4 Hour 05/01/21 Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 pm High Point H5 134 Register Now

Students can register in one of three ways: PREREGISTRATION is REQUIRED prior to attending class.

  • Online: Register
    • Use the Search function to search for Course Title or Course Code
  • In Person:
    • Jamestown, 140 Jamestown Court, Monday – Friday, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
    • Greensboro, 3505 E. Wendover Ave., Continuing Education Center, Monday – Thursday, 8:30 am – 6:00 pm and Friday, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
    • High Point, 901 S. Main St., H1, Monday – Thursday, 8:30 am – 6:00 pm and Friday, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
  • Mail: Download the registration form from website, and mail to GTCC, PO BOX 309, Jamestown, N.C. 27282. Download the form here: Con Ed Registration Form