Associate in Arts – Communication Studies

The Associate in Arts (AA) degree is designed for students who want to pursue a four-year degree in one of the liberal arts disciplines or training at a professional school that requires a strong liberal arts background. Upon transfer, students who earn the Associate in Arts degree generally major in fields such as anthropology, business, communication, economics, English, foreign language, geography, history, humanities, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, and sociology.

The Communication Studies program helps to build skills essential to your working and interpersonal life. The program concentrates on how to present your ideas professionally in informative and persuasive situations, how to navigate conflict, how to relate to others personally and professionally, how to interact with other cultures, and how to use power appropriately in communication.  Making Communication Studies a career choice gives you a wide range of employment opportunities upon degree completion.  Industries involved in Communication Studies include consulting, public relations, teaching, marketing, and many more!

Credentialing Options

Frequently Asked Questions

You will need to follow the general enrollment process for GTCC, found here.  During the advising process you will have the opportunity to indicate your desire to study within this curriculum. Your advisor will help you sign up for the specific courses you need.

Shelly Lutzweiler, Department Head
336-334-4822 Ext. 50332
sjlutzweiler@gtcc.edu

Bethany Barnes
336-334-4822 Ext. 50634
babarnes1@gtcc.edu

Zachary Jackson
336-334-4822 Ext. 53083
zhjackson@gtcc.edu

Kathryn Knoll
336-334-4822 Ext. 55082
keknoll@gtcc.edu

Amanda Melniczek
336-334-4822 Ext. 50765
admelniczek@gtcc.edu

Randall Romich
336-334-4822 Ext. 50667
rjromich@gtcc.edu

Wendy Walter
336-334-4822 Ext. 55082
erworkman@gtcc.edu

Yes, for qualified students. Visit our Financial Aid web page to learn more.