Defensive Driving

Have you gotten a speeding ticket or have been referred by the court or an attorney's office to take a defensive driving course? Guilford Technical Community College offers defensive driving courses, four hours or eight hours.

Frequently Asked Questions

Defensive Driving Course, Four Hours (DDC4)-

If you want a refresher course in the latest rules of the road, this class may be for you. Topics that the class covers include safety belts, child safety regulations, passing safely, the effect of alcohol and drugs on driving, and vehicle laws and regulations. This course is primarily for persons who received a minor traffic violation. The class is for drivers who received tickets involving low speeds, stop sign, and stop light violations. Upon completion of the defensive driving four-hour course, you will receive a certificate that the National Safety and Health Council recognizes.

Reserve your class hereReservation Form Click Here

*Note: All Classes are classroom instruction only. All our instructors are certified through the National Safety and Health Council of North Carolina.

Attitudinal Dynamic Driving, Eight Hours (ADD8) –

This highly effective driver-training program is especially for problem drivers. By emphasizing the connections between behavior and attitude, DDC-ADD helps participants to see how reckless driving is a result of their own actions. This course is primarily for persons with more serious traffic violations. The class is for those with high speeds, speeding in a work zone, speeding in school zone, and all other aggressive driving violations and for repeat offenders. Upon completion of the defensive driving eight-hour course, you will receive a certificate recognized that the National Safety and Health Council recognizes.

Reserve your class hereReservation Form Click Here 

*Note: All Classes are classroom instruction only. All our instructors are certified through the National Safety and Health Council of North Carolina.

  • You must have received a speeding ticket or have been referred by the court or attorney’s office.

Before you can attend any of the defensive driving classes, you must reserve a seat for class and pay prior to attending class. Please call our department at 336-334-4822 or 336-454-1126 Ext 55021. Or Click HERE to reserve your seat: Reservation Form 

  • Please have driver’s license number ready.
  • If available, also have your next court date.

DDC-4HOUR- $65.00

ADD-8HOUR- $105.00

Once you have reserved a seat by phone, we will give you further instructions on how to pay for your class.